In the music industry there is a phenomena known as 'the difficult third album'. This is where a band may have had a big hit with their first album, having seemingly come from nowhere, and follow it up quickly with their second which also does well and is normally similar in sound to their first. The band or artist then takes a break or finishes their touring and goes back to the studio to work on their next album but they have grown musically, mentally, financially and their sound might not be the hotest thing since sliced bread anymore. They decided to head in a different direction and the result is nowhere near as good or popular as their previous offerings. This doesn't mean that they are finished in the business as it can lead to a honing of their sound and hopefully a much better fourth album.

And so the difficult third post for me. I think the first two posts showed some wonderful street art and I am sure there will be plenty more around the city and surrounding areas as I go out over the next few months looking for it. I didn't want to leave a big gap between my posts but I don't have the time at the moment to find something that can compare. So I have decided to go simpler and smaller and hopefully it will fill the gap while I get to my bigger and better future posts.

Last week after my daughter had finished ballet we took a five minute walk around to the Centre d'Art to take some photos of the artwork on the front of the building. You can see some of the paintings from the street but to get a proper view and decent photos we had to squeeze through a broken gate. My five year old was excited about us sneaking into the small garden because she thought we had entered a secret place that not many people knew about.

The artwork at the Centre d'Art is the first street art I remember seeing in Nouméa and encouraged me to look passed the overwhelming amount of tagging that adorns everthing in the city and one piece in particular is still my favourite.
There is a young boy sitting at the end of the wall looking out onto the busy street. I wonder what he is thinking about and who or what he is waiting for as he sits quietly. For some reason I find it reassuring that everytime I go passed he is still there.
There are also other paintings on the walls around the small garden area including this beautiful one of the 'blue' woman and also I suspect there will be many artistic interpretations of the man below.
Location: Centre d'Art - 6, bd extérieur, Faubourg-Blanchot, Nouméa.
17/7/2012 06:05:50 am

A person essentially assist to make seriously articles I would state. This really is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I surprised with the research you created to make this specific publish incredible. Amazing job!

Reply



Leave a Reply.